Klaravich Stables and William H. Lawrence, WinStar Farm, Robert Manfuso and Leslie’s Lady, Top Winners at 32nd Annual TOBA National Awards

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association’s 32nd Annual National Awards Dinner was held at Calumet Farm in Lexington, Ky. on Saturday, September 9. Klaravich Stables and William H. Lawrence were named TOBA’s National Owner of the Year, and WinStar Farm was named the National Breeder of the Year. Robert Manfuso was named National Small Breeder of the Year and Leslie’s Lady, dam of Beholder, was honored with the National Broodmare of the Year title.

The National Awards Dinner, hosted by Jill Byrne of Breeders’ Cup Limited, also honored the achievements of Thoroughbred owners in the four major North American racing regions and breeders in 23 states and Canada.

Royal Posse, who won the 2016 Claiming Crown Jewel Stakes, was honored with Claiming Crown Horse of the Year, presented by the National HBPA.

The Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year went to Zine Dine, owned by Hailey Rogge. This award was presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred that has accumulated the most points in competition, as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.

In addition, the Heubeck family received the Robert N. Clay Award. In partnership with the Equine Land Conservation Resource, this award recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

The State Breeders of the Year toured Claiborne Farm and were honored at an awards luncheon at Dudley’s on Friday, September 8.


A complete list of winners is as follows:

Regional Owners of the Year:

Eastern Region: Juddmonte Farms

Midwestern Region: John Oxley

Southern Region: Klaravich Stables and William H. Lawrence

Western Region: Spendthrift Farm


State Breeders of the Year:

Arkansas: McDowell Farm

California: Heinz Steinmann

Canada: David and Adrian Munro

Florida: Gilbert Campbell

Illinois: Barney and Anne Gallagher

Indiana: Michael E. & Penny S. Lauer

Iowa: H. Allen Poindexter

Kansas: Rocking G Horse & Cattle

Kentucky: WinStar Farm

Louisiana: Irwin Olian

Maryland: Robert Manfuso

Massachusetts: Kenneth Posco

Michigan: Lisa Campbell

Minnesota: Richard Bremer and Cheryl Sprick

New Jersey: Daniel Lopez

New York: Chester & Mary Broman

North Carolina: Nancy Shuford

Ohio: Tim Hamm

Oregon: Neil Knapp

South Carolina: Franklin G. Smith Sr.

Texas: Craig Upham

Virginia: William M. Backer

Washington: Jean and Jeff Harris


National Broodmare of the Year:

Leslie’s Lady


Claiming Crown Horse of the Year:

Royal Posse


Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year:

Zine Dine


Robert N. Clay Award:

The Heubeck Family



National Awards Dinner sponsors include Calumet Farm, LUXAIR Jets, Stoll Keenon Ogden, The Stronach Group and Adena Springs, H.E. “Tex” Sutton Forwarding Company, Jackson Family Wines, Tito’s Handmade Vodka, West Sixth Brewing, National HBPA, FLAIR Nasal Strips, NTRA Advantage, John Deere, The Horse and BloodHorse.


About TOBA

TOBA, based in Lexington, Ky., was formed in 1961 and is a national trade organization of leading Thoroughbred owners and breeders. TOBA’s mission is to improve the economics, integrity and pleasure of the sport on behalf of Thoroughbred owners and breeders. Projects managed by TOBA include the American Graded Stakes Committee, Claiming Crown, Ownership Seminars, Breeding, Conformation & Pedigree Clinics, TOBA Owners Concierge, OwnerView and the Sales Integrity Program. TOBA provides international representation for U.S. owners and breeders on the International Grading and Race Planning Advisory Committee, International Cataloguing Standards Committee and International Breeders Federation. Thoroughbred Charities of America (TCA) is the charitable arm of TOBA. TOBA Media Properties, a subsidiary of TOBA, owns The Horse magazine, Eclipse Press and is co-owner of The BloodHorse LLC. TOBA is represented on the board of directors of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association and the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium as founding members.

Please follow and like us: